Story by Nancy Hobbs.  Photos by Richard Bolt

Team USA was victorious sweeping the top positions in both the men’s and women’s race with 2012 World Mountain Running Championship’s bronze medalist Morgan Arritola covering the 8-kilometer course in 42:31, followed by teammate Megan Lizotte in 46:03,for a team score of 3 points. Canadafinished in silver-medal position with Meggan Franks and Sarah Bergeron-Larouch in fifth and sixth position to score 11 points. Mexico’s Ana Rosa Gomez Velazquez and Sandra Lizeth Lopez Navarro scored 19 points to earn the bronze medal.

Joseph Gray won his fifth NACAC Mountain Running Championships title crossing the 12-kilometer course finish line in 56:23. He was followed by teammate Max King, the 2011 World Mountain Running Champion, who finished in a time of 56:45, followed by Glenn Randall in 57:58. The USAteam score was 6. Canada and Mexico both achieved a score of 22, but Canada finished their third scoring member before the Mexican runner. First forCanada was Jeff Gosselin in sixth position followed by David LePorho in seventh, and Allister Gardner in ninth. For Mexico, Jose Alberto Madera Vega finished in fourth with Victor Manuel Mercado Mirands in eighth. Fabian Vera Gutierrez, and Jose de Jesus de Los Angel finished in tenth and eleventh respectively.

In addition to the NACAC competition, the event hosted the USA Mountain Running Championships and team selection race for the 2013 U.S. Mountain Running Team.  USA Track and Field officials who were member of the jury of appeals included Bill Roe, long distance running chairperson, Kim Keenan-Kirkpatrick, women’s long distance running chairperson, and Mike Scott, cross country chairperson. The course referee was Steve Vaitone, USATF New England managing director. Nancy Hobbs, WMRA treasurer, was also present at the event.

Teams from Canada, Mexico, and USA participated.  Team scoring for the women included up to four women per team with the top two scoring, while the men could run up to four men on the team with the top three scoring.

Women’s Scoring:

1 – Morgan Arritola – 42:31, USA

2 – Megan Lizotte, USA

3- Amber Reece Young, USA

4- Michele Yates, USA

5 -Meggan Franks, CAN

6 – Sarah Bergeron-Larouche, CAN

7 – Melanie Nadeau, CAN

8- Sarah Baribeau, CAN

9 – Ana Rosa Gomez Velazquez, MEX

10 – Sandra Lizeth Lopez Navarro, MEX

Men’s Scoring

1 – Joe Gray, 56:23, USA

2 – Max King, USA

3 – Glenn Randall, USA

4 – Jose Alberto Madera Vega, MEX

5 – Ryan Woods, USA

6 – Jeff Goselin, CAN

7 – David LePorho, CAN

8 – Victor Manuel Mercado Mirands, MEX

9 – Allister Gardner, CAN

10 – Fabian Vera Gutierrez, MEX

11 – Jose de Jesus de Los Angel, MEX